​Resili​​​​ent Australia Awards

The Resilient Australia Awards started in 2000 and is a national program that recognises indi​viduals, groups or organisations that demonstrate excellence and innovation​ in projects and initiatives that support communities to be better prepared and more disaster resilient. 

The awards program is managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience (AIDR), and sponsored by the Australian Government Attorney-General's Department in conjunction with the states and territories. OEM is the Western Australian awards convenor on behalf of the Minister for Emergency Services. Resilience-building is a key component of OEM's and SEMC's focus on emergency management in Western Australia. 

Natural disasters are a feature of the Australian climate and landscape and are likely to continue with increasing regularity and severity. The Resilient Australia Awards reco​gnise and promote resilience-building activities which encourage excellence and innovation across all sectors of society.​ It is an opportunity to celebrate the efforts of individuals and groups within communities acorss Australia who are leading the way in making the country better prepared for disasters and emergencies. 

​Award categories

S​​​tate and territory award categ​or​​ies:​

  • ​​​​​​​Resilient Australia Business Award - Open to the private sector and business.
  • Resilient Australia Community Award - Open to communities, non-government organisations, tertiary colleges and universities. 
  • Resilient Australia Government Award - Open to local and state government agencies. 
  • Resilient Australia School Award - Open to all public and private pre-school, primary and secondary schools only. This does not include school related projects managed by a local or state government department.
  • Resilient Australia Photography Award - People's Choice - Open to individuals and copyright holders.​

The 2017 State winners

The 2017 Resilient Australia Awards were celebrated in November 2017 at the University Club of Western Australia. Read more on the 2017 Resilient Australia Awards page.

The Western Australian 2017 winners from the Rangelands NRM Western Australia, City of Mandurah Local Government, Department of Fire and Emergency Services with the SEMC Chair Dr Ron Edwards. ​​Read about the 2017 winning and finalist projects here. ​​

​The 2017 National Resilient Australia Awards were held in Sydney on 23 November 2017. The City of Mandurah was selected as a national finalist and was awarded the top prize receiving the award winning the National Award for the development of the Equi-Evac Centre Network, a planning and evacuation scheme to protect horses during times of emergency. Read more about the 2017 National award winners here.  

Read about the past ​Western Australian award winners: ​

For further information contact ResilientAustraliaAwards@ag.gov.au.