The Office of Emergency Management (OEM) was established on 1 December 2016. 

The OEM was formerly the SEMC Secretariat, which was created in July 2013 as a sub-department of the Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES).

The OEM w​as established as a result of the recommendations of the Special Inquiry into the January 2016 Waroona Fire by Euan Ferguson AFSM. The OEM retains the same role as the SEMC Secretariat - as well as the added Assurance function - and reports directly to the Minister for Emergency Services.

The OEM's key ​role is in providing support to the State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC)​ in delivering on its strategic goals across Risk, Capability, Impact, Engagement and Governance and Support.

The OEM is responsible for implementing the 2017-2020 Strategic Plan and the Annual Business Plan, as well as preparing and presenting the annual Emergency Preparedness Report to the Minister for Emergency Services.

​​​The State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC) is established by the Emergency Management Act 2005 and sits under the portfolio of the Minister for Emergency Service​s, the Hon. Francis​ Logan MLA. 

The Committee is the overarching body, comprised of three independent members​ and up to seven other members from key Western Australian government agencies that have an essential role in the state's emergency management arrangements. The Committee's main aim is to develop the best emergency management arrangements in Western ​Australia.

Emergency Management arrangements in Western Australia follow ​a three-tiered structure comprising the State (SEMC), District (DEMC) and Local (LEMC) levels. The structure also includes the SEMC S​ubcommittees and Reference Groups. The aim of these committees is to oversee and undertake emergency management planning and preparedness.